A successful first trip!

The first outing in Baby Daze was a complete success!

Everything hooked up and ready to go!

Everything hooked up and ready to go!

We left 2 days ahead of my folks, to go to the manufacturer of Bigfoot levels and get nice new jacks put on.  I had the strangest sensation as we pulled out of my parent’s driveway, that we were doing something we weren’t supposed to be doing.  I remember feeling exactly the same way when I first drove a car with no one else with me–am I really allowed to be doing this?!  I calmed down as we got further and further away, and focused on navigating and helping Nat. (“Helping” by annoyingly interjecting a vomit-stream of words, I mean.  Nothing is more appreciated than a running stream of commentary when you’re just trying to drive the damn RV!)

We thought we Bigfoot would need 2 whole days to get the old levels off and install the new ones.  We called in mid-day on the first day to check on progress, and were told that everything was done!  We decided to stay anyways and do all the things we wanted to do anyways.  (That is, eat.)  We drove and drove around Amish county.  Ate at Rocket Science Ice Cream, where you choose your liquid ingredients, which are then shot with liquid nitrogen to become ice cream in front of your eyes!  Went to the craziness of Shipshewana on a flea market day.  Ate at an old-school diner.  Went to the RV/MH Hall of Fame and saw a beast of an RV that is circling the globe.  Ate gluten-free waffles.  We also saw the strangest RV thing ever–some globe-trotting behemoth with maps on it to indicate that it has gone ALLLL over.

Notice the lack of a red line through Colombia

Notice the lack of a red line through Colombia

The tank

The tank

Rocket Science Ice Cream!

Rocket Science Ice Cream!

photo(6)

We then traveled to Michigan City, IN to join my folks and the Great Lakes Lazy Daze club.  We met a lovely group of people and had a wonderfully relaxing long weekend.  I’m so glad I put all the time I did into cleaning up the RV–we got tons of compliments on how pretty she looked!

My ideal vacation view

My ideal vacation view

Our friends from Chicago visited us and spent the night with us.  We were the first stop on their honeymoon tour around Lake Michigan.  As always, Ann and Nathan were superb eaters and hikers, and we did plenty of both.

It was simply a week of success, over and over.  We successfully towed the car, unhooked it, and got it back on the dolly later.  We successfully dumped our tanks.  We successfully navigated around unfamiliar places with 40 feet of combined beast.  We even had a good time!

I was mostly pleased with how very homey the RV felt.  On the way home from Florida, with 3 adults, too much stuff with no places for it and no systems in place for how to do anything, I thought “Good golly, what have I done?”  This time was completely different.  We’re starting to get systems for how to live, and where to put things, and how to have some alone space in less than 100 feet of floor space.  I looked around and thought “Yeah, I could live here.”  It felt good.

Leave a Reply

