In dreams

A patron at work that I really admired passed away last week. She suffered through years of cancer before she decided that she wasn’t going to go through anymore chemo. She was graceful and kind, strong and vivacious. She performed flamenco and always had sweet things to say when she saw you. She was very much someone who lived in the moment and made her life what she wanted it to be.

And she visited me in a dream last night.

In the dream, she was walking towards me, looking fabulous in a vibrant red shirt. “You’re dead.” I said, “How can I see you?”

“Most people can’t; I’m going to those who can to let everyone know that I’m OK. I’m great, actually. I’m happy, and at peace, and I just want to let everyone know that before I go.”

I woke up sobbing. I’ve never experienced anything like that in my life.

It was so powerful to realize that she was creating the reality she wants to have, without even having a physical body to work with! I’m not sure if that makes things easier or harder! I felt blessed that she shared her love with me one last time. I’m so happy for her.

Leave a Reply

